Exhibit Overview

This exhibit contains brief biographies of university presidents from 1865 to present, with accompanying portraits.

During this time, the university has had multiple names: Christian College, Oregon State Normal School, Oregon College of Education, Western Oregon State College and is currently known as Western Oregon University.

When the institution was named Monmouth University (1856-1865), the chairman of the Board of Trustees held the title of president. The position of president was separated from the Board of Trustees when Monmouth University merged with nearby Bethel College to create Christian College in 1865. The University is on its seventh name in its 160-year history; during six of these periods, it had an independent president.

YearsSchool Name
1856 - 1865 Monmouth University
1865 - 1882 Christian College (merged with Bethel College 1852-1865)
1882 – 1909 Oregon State Normal School (OSNS)
1910 Closed
1911 - 1939 Oregon Normal School (ONS)
1939 - 1981 Oregon College of Education (OCE)
1981 - 1997 Western Oregon State College (WOSC)
1997 - present Western Oregon University (WOU)